BGAV Leadership & Governance

BGAV Executive Office

The Executive Office relates to all agencies and institutions in partnership with the Baptist General Association of Virginia.

Executive Director: Dr. John V. Upton, Jr. (biography)

Treasurer: Rev. David Washburn

Executive Assistant: Mrs. Marilee White

BGAV Officers

Elected at the 196th Annual Meeting of the Baptist General Association of Virginia in Roanoke, the following are officers for 2020.

President: Rev. Dr. J. Adam Tyler

1st Vice President:  Dr. Ron Gravatt

2nd Vice President: Rev. Carol Johnston

Clerk: Rev. Dr. Herbert Ponder

The officers serve one-year terms, which conclude at the Annual Meeting. The 2020 meeting will be held in Hampton, VA.

BGAV Executive Board

Chair: Mrs. Rebecca McKinney, Collinsville

View the full Executive Board (PDF)

BGAV Mission Council

Rev. Dr. J. Adam Tyler
BGAV President
Chair of the Virginia Baptist Mission Council

View the full Mission Council (PDF)

BGAV Standing Committees

  • Committee on Credentials – TBD
  • Tellers Committee – TBD
  • Committee on Boards and Committees – Tim Madison, Mechanicsville Baptist Church
  • Committee on Scholarships & Ministerial Education Funds – Tommy McDearis, Blacksburg Baptist Church
  • Committee on Program – Ann Brown, Gretna Baptist Church
  • Committee on Christian Life – John Sawyer, Bon Air Baptist Church
  • Committee on Memorial – Nancy Stanton McDaniel, Rhoadesville Baptist Church
  • Committee on Religious Liberty – Todd Blake, Madison Heights Baptist Church
  • Committee on Resolutions – Mike Hatfield, Chatham Heights Baptist Church

View full committee lists with members (PDF)

BGAV Constitution/Bylaws

Click here to view the BGAV Constitution & Bylaws approved by messengers at the 2014 BGAV Annual Meeting in Hampton, VA with revisions made in 2015 and 2016.